h y p e r b l o g


03-John Ruskin(Narrativa) – (Proceso FirstPaper)
29 Octubre 2008, 13:55 pm
Filed under: narrativa | Etiquetas:

I’ve tried to find Articles written by John Ruskin and I haven’t found anything yet. When I use the keyword “John Ruskin Articles in Google I find things like this:
General Articles, Texts and Web Sites on Ruskin

* A web guide to John Ruskin from literaryhistory.com
* John Ruskin on Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
* John Ruskin Essential Information, explanation, recent texts, monographs, and relevant links
* A very brief intro to Ruskin
* John Ruskin at Art Renewal Center
* The Johns Hopkins Guide To Literary Theory And Criticism
* John Ruskin at spartacus.schoolnet.co.uk
* John Ruskin at visitcumbria.com
* Sheffield Galleries & Museums Trust – Ruskin Collection
* John Ruskin at Olga’s Gallery
* Ruskin Museum (Coniston, Cumbria)
* The Ruskin Gallery in Sheffield
* Ruskin’s House (Brantwood)
* Ruskin Library at Lancaster University
* The Ruskin Programme at Lancaster University
* CD-ROM of Ruskin’s works available to buy
* Ruskin, Turner and the Pre-Raphaelites – Tate Britain – March 9 to May 28, 2000
Portrait of the Critic as a Young Artist, By Michele Leight – read online at thecityreview.com
* The Gothic Revival in the United Kingdom (Shaw Creek Bird Supply)

And I read at the wikipedia “is best known for his work as an art critic, sage writer, and social critic, but is remembered as an author”, but I can’t find any articles. So I better focus in my other two points.



Steve Krause, in connection with one of the Major Critical Theories in US
29 Octubre 2008, 13:44 pm
Filed under: métodos | Etiquetas:

I’ve been reading and re-reading Steve’s text, which is very interesting, and I’ve tryied to relate it with one of the Critical Theories we saw in class ( Timeline of Major Critical Theories in US ).  After reading all of the different Critical Theories, my conclusion is that this text should be inside of the ” Cultural Studies“.

I’ve searched for more info about Cultural Studies in google, to make sure it was the best option.

I found this in wikipedia: “Cultural studies is an academic discipline which combines political economy, communication, sociology, social theory, literary theory, media theory, film/video studies, cultural anthropology, philosophy, museum studies and art history/criticism to study cultural phenomena in various societies. Cultural studies researchers often concentrate on how a particular phenomenon relates to matters of ideology, nationality, ethnicity, social class, and/or gender.”



(extra text)Sexing the machine-Three digital women debate gender, technology and the Net
28 Octubre 2008, 20:25 pm
Filed under: métodos | Etiquetas:

Three digital women debate
gender, technology and the Net

After reading , my favourite opinion from this debate is Ellen Ullman‘s one.

MULTI-TASKING -- BENEFIT OR CURSE?

Ellen Ullman seems to have it all clear: with computers there’s not a matter of gender. As she sais (I really like this point): “a computer program has one and only one meaning: It works, more or less” . It doesn’t matter if you are a woman or a man; if you have a sane live, with friends and acquaintances, it is quite normal if you don’t feel attracted to the idea of speding a lot of time in front of a computer. And she also thinks (about the multi-tasking) computers do not allow people to do several things at once; maybe that’s what we think, but the truth is that computers take all of our attention at the end, if you’re doing something with the computer and anything else at the same time (like talking with someone at the phone).

THE AUTHORITARIAN NET

“The Net represents a return to the most restrictive, authoritarian model of early computing: the control of the central server”.

A COMPUTER IS NOT A METAPHOR

“Computers are actual objects doing quantifiable tasks, and a social, analytical, metaphorical understanding of them is not the same thing as their functioning existence”. There is no such thing as “machine intelligence.”: The “intelligence” of a computer is our attempt to understand and codify our own intelligence.

“When we talk about computers, we are talking about the most authoritarian object you can imagine. Somewhere in any system there is a locus of control. I cannot see how such a thing will free anybody from anything.”



Steve Krause, there’s hope!
25 Octubre 2008, 11:45 am
Filed under: métodos | Etiquetas:

I was quite worried because I was like more focused on my Narrativa’s firstpaper because of all the info I was finding about John Ruskin. With Steve my work was a bit boring, because the only info I could find was his CV and the bio I found on his site. But! I tried seding emails to 4 email addresses I found that could be from him, and… I got a response!!

I’m so lucky because Steve is soooo nice!

Here’s the email he just sent to me:

Hi Ana--

I'm glad you're interested in my article.  I assume this is for some kind of
class; just out of curiosity, what sort of class is it?

My web site/blog is http://www.stevendkrause.com  I have some links to other
things I've done, some more bio, some more CV info, etc.  It's not complete, but
it gives you a pretty good idea.  And if you have any questions about the
*Computers and Composition* article, feel free to email.

--Steve

Dr. Steven D. Krause
Professor, Department of English Language and Literature
Eastern Michigan University | Ypsilanti, MI 48197
734-487-1363 | http://www.stevendkrause.com

I know he’s not giving me more info than the one I found on his site, but now I know I can ask him anything I need to ask!. The main reason why I chose him was  that little possibility of getting in touch with him, because maybe it could help me to make a better work. And as John Ruskin is not gonna say anything to me ( I hope he doesn’t, because that would scare me as hell) now I’m more focused in Métodos, which was something I was really needing.

Have a nice saturday!



02 Birkerts, Sven – The Gutenberg Elegies: The Fate of Reading in an Electronic Age
23 Octubre 2008, 18:24 pm
Filed under: narrativa | Etiquetas:

02 Birkerts, Sven – The Gutenberg Elegies: The Fate of Reading in an Electronic Age

 Main ideas I’ve found:

The text starts giving us differences between the printed literature and the one of electronic systems:

– The order of print is linear/ The electronic order is not.

– Print communication requires the active engagement of the reader’s attention / Electronic communication can be passive.

– (Print) Symblos are turned into their verbal references and these are in turn interpreted / With visual media impression and image take precedence over logic and concept and detailed and linear sequentiality are sacrificed.

– The print engagement is essentially private / (Electronic) Engagement is intrisically public.

– The printed material is static; it is the reader that moves, not the book / Contents, unless they are printed out are felt to be evanescent.

– The pace of reading is variable, determined by the reader’s focus and comprehension/ The pace is rapid, driven by jump-cut increments.

I found it interesting when the author starts talking about the new chindren’s generation of today, that may know no other way than the visual one to learn, and that are made of different stuff than the elders are.

 

(still working on it)



01- STEVE KRAUSE (Proceso FirstPaper)
23 Octubre 2008, 13:25 pm
Filed under: métodos | Etiquetas:

It’s been harder finding info about Steve Krause than about John Ruskin. And the main problem was the possibility of finding info about a Steve that wasn’t the one I need (there’s a Steven Krause who’s a singer..).

I’ve used the keyword on google: “Steve Krause is a graduate student in the English Deparment at Bowling Green State University” – I copied it from the end of the article he wrote called “”How Will This Improve Student Writing?” Reflections on an Exploratory Study of Online and Off-Line Texts” which is in Fores web page. This finally gave me  results, because using the keyword “Steve Krause” was kind of risky for the reason I said before.

(http://krause.emich.edu/about.html)

About me…

I am an Associate Professor in the Department of English Language and Literature at Eastern Michigan University in Ypsilanti, Michigan. Most of my teaching at both the undergraduate and graduate levels explores the connections between writing and technology. Some of my recent scholarship has appeared in the journals Computers and Composition, College Composition and Communication Online, and The Journal of the Midwest Modern Language Association. I’ve also given presentations at many different conferences.

Brief biography
I was born in Wisconsin and I lived in several different places as a child, but I consider Cedar Falls, Iowa to be my home town. After high school, I attended the University of Iowa where I earned a BA in English. After my undergraduate degree, I entered the creative writing program at Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond, Virginia, and I earned a Master of Fine Arts degree. I continued to live in Richmond until 1993, working part-time as an adjunct instructor at Virginia Commonwealth and full-time in the marketing department of the Virginia Student Assistance Authority, a student loan agency. While my title there was “public relations representative,” most of my work involved desktop publishing, document design, and technical writing.

I entered the PhD program in Rhetoric and Writing at Bowling Green State University in Bowling Green, Ohio. My dissertation, which I have made available on the web, was called “The Immediacy of Rhetoric: Defintions, Illustrations, and Implications.” In 1996, I began work as an Assistant Professor in the English Department at Southern Oregon University in Ashland, Oregon. In 1998, I joined the faculty at Eastern Michigan as an Assistant Professor, and in 2002, I was granted tenure and promoted to Associate Professor.

Those interested in other aspects of my life can visit my personal web site.

About my teaching
Like most composition and rhetoric teachers/scholars, I want students to be actively involved in their own learning and I see my role as a “leader” and a “facilitator.” This is particularly true with students in advanced undergraduate and graduate courses, though this is also the atmosphere I try to create in courses like first year writing and introduction to literature. I see writing as a process, though, like those scholars interested in what has been called “post-process pedagogy,” I don’t believe there is any definitive or correct writing process. Rather, the process of writing is always tied to purpose, audience, culture, and the like.
I have been heavily invested in the use of technologies like the Internet to facilitate my teaching since 1993 with the use email, newsgroups, web pages, and synchronous discussion forums. Technology can’t replace good teaching nor can it solve the problems of bad teaching. But I do think that instructional technology simultaneously facilitates and questions the student-centered classroom in interesting ways that has made me a better teacher.

To learn more about the courses I’m teaching now and the courses I’ve taught in the recent past, visit my teaching page.

About my scholarship
My scholarly energies are currently going in two general directions. First, I am interested in issues having to do with the work of scholars who fall into the loosely defined camp of “computers and writing.” For example, I published an article in College Composition and Communication Online called “Where Do I List This on My CV? Considering the Values of Self-Published Web Sites” in which I discuss some of the challenges computers and writing scholars face in getting their web-based projects to “count” as scholarship in traditional tenure and promotion reviews. With Bill Hart-Davidson and nine other collaborators, I was one of the “Directors/Producers” of the essay “Re: The Future of Computers and Writing: A Multivocal Textumentary, ” which appeared in the second volume of the twentieth anniversary issue of the journal Computers and Composition. As the title suggests, this unusual essay is an interactive discussion and meditation on what it means now to say we are scholars in “computers and writing,” and what it is likely to mean in the future. I anticipate I will continue to be involved in projects on this topic, possibly including an edited collection of essays.

Second, I am currently researching and writing about the uses of technology other than the computer in writing classes in order to better understand our uses and misuses of current and future technologies. To date, I’ve published an essay on the introduction of the chalkboard in nineteenth century schools, I have presented on the evolution of the pen (from quill to nib to fountain pen to ballpoint) and the implications this tool had on the ability to teach more complex writing skills, and on the impact of the introduction of inexpensive paper products. I believe this project has significant potential as a book-length manuscript, one that I think would build a bridge between the historical scholarship on writing instruction in America and contemporary computers and composition studies.

To learn more about my scholarly activities, visit my Web CV.

 



03 Klages, Mary – The Modern Critical Thought
22 Octubre 2008, 22:24 pm
Filed under: métodos

POSTMODERNISM

To know what’s postmodernism first she explains what’s modernism. The main characteristics of modernism are:

1- The revolutionary change: an emphasis on impressionism and subjectivity in writting. We change from “what” to “how” producing art.  The reader is integrated in the peace of art itself (how do we feel about i? how do we interpretate it?).

2- Modernism takes place all over the world. The conceptualization of art changed ( a modernism way of looking at the peace of art).

3- People start mixing things that before were unthinkable.

4 – Modernism sees the reality in a fragmented way, because of the untrustness, 20th century people way of thinking change: and it changes much more in an artistic enviroment.

5- People become conciousness of how to buid things. Modernism authors tell you how the book is written, how is structured, etc

* Censoship is a way to opose to modernism- that’s what happened in Spain: as politicals censorred art, there was a big black hole during modernism.

6- Spontaneity, minimalism, discovery in creation (improvisación pero con conocimiento)

7- Distinction between “high” an “low” or popular lliterature.

*High culture: previous training, learning process for reading and appreciating.

People appreciate quality when they have learnt what’s “high” and what’s “low”. High isn’t related with anything but high quality culture. We need critical tools to difference literature.

Postmodernism: folows more or less theses ideas. It’s a new way of looking at things. We have assimilated nowadays a lot of the modernism  ideas.

– Realism reflects the dirt of reality, the power.

multinational+ capitalism society = postmodernism

electricity –> nuclear electricity= modernism—>postmodernism

(ideas and notes from class)



A New Art Form: Hypertext Fiction ( HOWARD S. BECKER)
20 Octubre 2008, 13:11 pm
Filed under: narrativa

This all started when I read the first Narrativa’s text from Howard S. Becker. In the beginning he explains the method his students used , which was writing a journal from the process of their work; a kind of diary where they had to write all they were doing or thinking about while doing the class project.

I wanted to do something useful for both narrativa and métodos, and that text gave me the clue. That was the main inspiration for this blog.

(to be continued)

*class notes:

Creation of a new art= every peace is unique= hypertext!

Is it hypertext fiction new? or just the same as the old art form we all know?

The idea of hypertext is older than computers.

With books we have lineal reading, and they are physical. If you brake the physical lineality, the book becomes a mess.

In hypertexts each unit may be connected to many other texts (by paths). With these paths the author stablishes the order he wants you to read his text (path->made by links)



02 John Ruskin(Narrativa) – (Proceso FirstPaper)
20 Octubre 2008, 12:20 pm
Filed under: narrativa

JOHN RUSKIN WORKS:

And now I’m gonna switch into English as I’ve realized that there’s so much more info in english pages than in Spanish. In fact, I don’t really know why did I started this research in Spanish.

But before of searching for “John Ruskin works”, I’ve searched in google images “John Ruskin” as I want to add images to my research. I’ve found a lot, and even images from his books; and as I’m gonna work about them, I think I’ll use them in my web page left click in each image to go to the web page from where I got them(working on that))  :

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Keyword for google: “john ruskin works”

– I’ve found a very interesting web page called Victorianweb with a partial list of his works and a brief introduiction to his life and works. I think I’ll use it all.

– At Gutembergs I’ve found a lot of e-books. Is not the thing that i have to work about, but i’m gonna keep the link just in case I need them in the future, as maybe i’ll be interested in working about John Ruskin in the second paper of Métodos.

Wikipedia in English have more info than in Spanish!

( I’ll see if I can add all of this info to spanish wiki )

I’ve just realized there’s a section in wiki called “External Links” which is VERY interesting.

For example:

John Ruskin – General Articles, Texts and Web Sites on Ruskin

In this site there’s a lot of links related to John Ruskin, such as this one: http://essential-facts.com/primary/ethics/John_Ruskin.html

– I enter archive.com and I find this electronic book.

And here is a list of his works.

– You can buy his books on ebay!



01 John Ruskin(Narrativa) – (Proceso FirstPaper)
15 Octubre 2008, 15:55 pm
Filed under: narrativa

( Proceso de búsqueda )

 

*Apartado: Libros escritos por el autor

Empiezo a buscar en google.com : “john ruskin obras”

En wikipedia:

” El espectro de temas abarcado por Ruskin fue muy amplio. Escribió más de 250 obras que empezaron en la historia y crítica del arte, pero que terminaron en materias tan variadas como la ciencia, geología, crítica literaria, ornitología, los efectos de la polución sobre el medio ambiente o mitología. Después de su muerte, sus obras fueron recogidas en una extensa colección, llevada acabo por sus amigos Edward Cook y Alexander Wedderburn en 1912. Solo un índice así de extenso es capaz de reflejar la amplitud e interconexión de todos sus pensamientos.

  • Escribió su primera obra (Pintores modernos, 1843-1860) para defender el paisajismo de Turner.
  • Las siete lámparas de la arquitectura (1849). Donde desarrolla sus ideas estéticas.
  • Las piedras de Venecia (1851-1853). Obra escrita tras sus estancia en Venecia, también exponente de sus ideas estéticas, así como de su visión sobre el gótico.
  • Conferencias sobre la arquitectura y la pintura (1853).
  • Economía política del arte (1857).
  • Dos caminos (1859).
  • Sésamo y lirios (1865).
  • La moral del polvo (1866).
  • La corona de olivo silvestre (1866)
  • Fors Clavigera (1871-1887). Cartas a los obreros ingleses.
  • La Biblia de Amiens (1880-1885).
  • Praeterita (1885-1889). Biografía inacabada. “

      

  

 

  

 

(http://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Ruskin )

 

 Encuentro otras 2 páginas pero en las dos pone lo mismo que en la Wikipedia con lo cual me sirven de poco:

(http://enciclopedia.us.es/index.php/John_Ruskin)

(http://www.urbipedia.org/index.php/John_Ruskin)

 Tambien he encontrado un libro online, pero como es un punto sobre el que yo no voy a trabajar tampoco me interesa. De todas formas lo pongo aquí también:

 (http://www.cuantolibro.com/autor/15595/John-Ruskin.html) ebook: The Elements of Drawing and Perspective

También pongo la información de la “viquipedia“, que es basicamente lo mismo que pone en la wiki pero en catalán.